Created:Thursday, January 24, 2013 8:10 p.m.CDT
Updated:Thursday, January 24, 2013 10:10 p.m.CDT

Area sends 5 teams to first dance finals

Jori Brockway (center) waits in the hall with the Johnsburg dance team before Thursday's pep rally for the team at the school. The dance team finished third at the Grayslake North Sectional and will compete in the state finals beginning Friday in Bloomington. (Sarah Nader –

For the first time since competitive dance began in Illinois, high school teams across the state are competing for an IHSA state title.

The preliminaries of the IHSA competitive dance state finals begin Friday at the U.S. Cellular Coliseum in Bloomington. Thirty teams are competing in each of the three divisions, and the top 10 finishers in their respective division advance to Saturday’s finals.

Five McHenry County area teams qualified for state: Johnsburg (1A), Woodstock North (1A), FVC Fox Division champion Crystal Lake Central (2A), FVC Valley Division champion Crystal Lake South (2A) and Jacobs (3A). Crystal Lake South is holding a balloon send-off between 7 a.m. and 7:30 a.m. at the high school before the Gators depart for Bloomington.

One of the biggest differences with competitive dance becoming a sanctioned sport is that there are no specific dance categories such as hip-hop or kick. The change has forced each team to examine its strengths, Jacobs dance team coach Allison Preston said. In preparation of the state finals, the Golden Eagles’ 22-person dance team is sticking with its strength – hip-hop.

“We have to put our best quality routine out there without really being able to have anything to go off of, such as, 'Is our hip-hop better than their hip-hop?' ” Preston said. “So we’ve been really focusing on our skill level and trying to make it as intricate as possible and make it as clean and as exciting as possible, really get the crowd into it as well.”

For Jacobs’ state routine this year, Preston said it’s “really unique, robotic and really different from what we’ve done before.”

Competitive dance state finals

Local teams with Friday's preliminaries performance time
Woodstock North 10:15 a.m.

Johnsburg 11:21 a.m.

Crystal Lake Central 3:35 p.m.

Jacobs 6:30 p.m.

Crystal Lake South 6:45 p.m.



Head Coach: Allison Preston

Asst. Coach: Tracy Rotondi

Haley Andersen (Sr.)

Taylor Bruno (Sr.)

Kayleigh Cosden (Jr.)

Kelly Dever (Jr.)

Teagan Fors (Fr.)

Alexis Gaddy (Fr.)

Nikki Karas (So.)

Stephanie Kaufmann (Fr.)

Hayley MacMillan (So.)

Tailor McAvoy (Jr.)

Brooke Mertins (Sr.)

Gabrielle Mertz (Fr.)

Mikayla Mertz (So.)

Briana Montgomery (So.)

Olivia Orencia (So.)

Carly Osterheld (Sr.)

Emma Phillips (Jr.)

Emily Randazzo (Jr.)

Caroline Rebodos (Fr.)

Lauren Rebodos (Jr.)

Julie Rohde (Jr.)

Rebecca Sampson (Jr.)

Samantha Savage (Fr.)

Kelsey Schneider (Sr.)

Danielle Siegel (So.)

Crystal Lake Central

Head Coach: Caroline Christensen

Asst. Coach: Brittany Handley

Mary Antolak (Jr.)

Olivia Barkocy (Jr.)

Allison Beggin (Jr.)

Nicole Behm (Jr.)

Victoria Collins (Fr.)

Lexi Enxing (Fr.)

Christina Gadomski (Jr.)

Jennifer Getty (Jr.)

Lauren Gleason (Fr.)

Brittany Hayes (So.)

Brette Hooker (Jr.)

Ally Korn (Sr.)

Emily Logan (Jr.)

Becca Polk (Jr.)

Maddy Popp (Sr.)

Hannah Wittenberg (Fr.)

Mady Wynsma (Jr.)

Isabelle Yumping (Fr.)

Crystal Lake South

Head Coach: Lauren Stroman

Asst. Coach: Jessica Mino

Haley Albright (Sr.)

Theresa Benedetto (Sr.)

Faith Brunner (Sr.)

Nicole Chamberlain (Jr.)

Stephanie Dille (Fr.)

Monika Esser (So.)

Kaiti Fruehe (Sr.)

Zoe Hareng (Jr.)

Maddie Kinker (Sr.)

Nicole Kucera (So.)

Allie Mayers (Sr.)

Katherine Siavelis (Fr.)

Cristina Sottile (Sr.)

Katina Tole (Sr.)

Lexi Turner (Fr.)

Kaitlyn Vollmert (Sr.)

Sarah Walker (Jr.)

Sheila Walsh (Sr.)


Head Coach: Lauren Ankele

Makayna Barger (Fr.)

Hanah Berge (Jr.)

Jori Brockway (Jr.)

Jessica Flack (Fr.)

Mykell Freund (So.)

Paige Hansen (Fr.)

Olivia Jansen (Sr.)

Taylor Nimrick (Sr.)

Ali Rasper (Fr.)

Sarah Weaver (So.)

Woodstock North

Head Coach: Sabrina Nevler

Marina Besserud (Sr.)

Shannon Billings (Jr.)

Elle Creighton (Fr.)

Daniela Galindo (Fr.)

Kailey Johnston (Sr.)

Cheyanne Knoll (Sr.)

Karigan Kovac (Fr.)

Nicolette Kruczek (Sr.)

Sam Kruczek (So.)

Noelle Lorenz (Fr.)

Krista Obenchain (So.)

Lian Pankow (So.)

Sandra Rodriguez (Sr.)

Angeline Saxton (Jr.)

Dana Seminara (Jr.)

Emily Sitke (Fr.)

Olivia Vepley (Fr.)

Caitlin Wirfs (Fr.)